Monday, November 10, 2014

Review: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick


What I Thought Was True cover
What I Thought Was True
by Huntley Fitzpatrick
April 15, 2014
422 pages


Goodreads Summary:
From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.


Review

When I read the synopsis I thought this book was going to be a cute contemporary book. It was cute but it was also not just that. The story makes you think about what you want in life. I really enjoyed this book even if the writing style was confusing at times. Some things didn't flow for me which had me going back and forth a few times to fully catch the meaning. Also, it might have been a little slow at certain parts. In the end, I did pull through and enjoy myself most of the time.

Gwen's a good girl. I adored the friendship between her and Mrs. Ellington. When she struggled with whether to tell Mrs. E what her son was doing, her thoughts were relatable and realistic. Even her internal conflict with whether to trust Cass or not was relatable considering what happened after they had sex at that party. It's nice that Fitzpatrick doesn't shy away from talking about sex. It's a real thing!! I love that even though Gwen and Cass are from different worlds, they still fell in love. Cass is a wonderful, hot guy that wants a real relationship with her, not just a big box of condoms. Yes read the book to find out!


Gwen's life was full of surprises and things she thought she knew but didn't really. Whether it was a good surprise like becoming Cass's girlfriend or a bad one like Nic and Viv's "perfect" relationship failing (which I did saw coming), I like that she accepted them all. She accepted her brother's unusual condition and loves her family exactly the way they are. They were a confusing bunch but I eventually caught on.

Most of the guys in this book were a-holes really but I can't deny they all added to the story. They were there for a reason. The character I disliked the most was Viv. I know, not shocking at all. I can't believe she went around the whole summer pretending everything was fine. Emphasis on the pretending! To me, what she did should definitely not be easily forgiven no matter her reasoning. She should've just been honest with Nic and told Gwen the truth. The only part I liked about her was that she was content with staying on Seashell and taking over Almeida's in the future. She didn't whine and complain that there are bigger things out there for her. Good for her.

Overall, this book has great characters and a cute story with realistic points and meaningful messages. If that's what you like then give What I Thought Was True a chance! I know I'll definitely be reading Fitzpatrick's next books.


4 Cats

10 comments:

  1. I am sad this wasn't a little bit better for most people because her debut novel was exceptional. I do still want to read it though because I can't resist these type of reads.

    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too! I was sad when I saw all the mixed reviews but when I read it, I still really enjoyed this one. I hope you will too :)

      Delete
  2. Huntley is awesome. I enjoyed both her books! But yes, I agree that this one was a bit on a more serious side.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay I'm so glad you liked this one too yayy :D

      Delete
  3. Thanks for the heads up to a new author for me. Do you think I should read her debut first?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes yes yes!! My Life Next Door was cute and just awesome!!

      Delete
  4. hey i heard a lot of good thing about this book, happy you like it :D its in my to TBR list ... by the way you have a very lovely cat :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get to it soon! And thank you from my cat ;)

      Delete
  5. Great review! And I agree with you, there is definitely more to this one than a cute contemporary.....I really liked it!

    Em @ http://theyabookbutterfly.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So glad you enjoyed it too! Huntley Fitzpatrick is an awesome contemporary author!

      Delete

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my posts! I read each and every comment I get and will reply as soon as I can :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...