Wednesday, March 22, 2017

WoW #141: The Girl Who Knew Too Much by Amanda Quick


Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about! 


The Girl Who Knew Too Much by Amanda QuickThe Girl Who Knew Too Much
by Amanda Quick
May 9, 2017
352 pages

Goodreads Summary:
Amanda Quick, the bestselling author of ’Til Death Do Us Part, transports readers to 1930s California, where glamour and seduction spawn a multitude of sins…

When Hollywood moguls and stars want privacy, they head to an idyllic small town on the coast, where the exclusive Burning Cove Hotel caters to their every need. It’s where reporter Irene Glasson finds herself staring down at a beautiful actress at the bottom of a pool…

The dead woman had a red-hot secret about up-and-coming leading man Nick Tremayne, a scoop that Irene couldn’t resist—especially since she’s just a rookie at a third-rate gossip rag. But now Irene’s investigation into the drowning threatens to tear down the wall of illusion that is so deftly built around the famous actor, and there are powerful men willing to do anything to protect their investment.

Seeking the truth, Irene finds herself drawn to a master of deception. Oliver Ward was once a world-famous magician—until he was mysteriously injured during his last performance. Now the owner of the Burning Cove Hotel, he can’t let scandal threaten his livelihood, even if it means trusting Irene, a woman who seems to have appeared in Los Angeles out of nowhere four months ago…

With Oliver’s help, Irene soon learns that the glamorous paradise of Burning Cove hides dark and dangerous secrets. And that the past—always just out of sight—could drag them both under…

 
I read her 'Til Death Do Us Part last year and really enjoyed it- can't wait to see what she's got next!

What are you guys waiting on this week?

Monday, March 20, 2017

Review: A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly #2) by Susan Dennard


*Review contains spoilers from the previous books in the trilogy.
 
A Darkness Strange and Lovely by Susan Dennard
A Darkness Strange and Lovely
(Something Strange and Deadly #2)
by Susan Dennard
July 23, 2013
408 pages


Goodreads Summary:
Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there's a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

Saturday, March 18, 2017

Stacking the Shelves #137


Stacking the Shelves button

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews that lets us share what we've added to our shelves.
 

I'm actually on vacation right now so no physical books but here are a few ebooks I received for review in the past little while :)
 
Love Hate and Other Lies We Told by Deirdre Riordan HallUndeclared by Julianna Keyes
 Cashmere by Temple WestGuardian of Secrets by Brenda DrakeGarden of Thorns by Amber Mitchell

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Friday, March 17, 2017

Review: Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly #1) by Susan Dennard


Something Strange and Deadly by Susan DennardSomething Strange and Deadly
(Something Strange and Deadly #1)
by Susan Dennard
July 24, 2012
388 pages


Goodreads Summary:
There's something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she's just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she'll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Blog Tour - Top 10 Favourite Book Covers & Giveaway: These Ruthless Deeds (These Vicious Masks #2) by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

 
These Ruthless Deeds  Blog Tour banner
 
 
These Ruthless Deeds by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas
These Ruthless Deeds
(These Vicious Masks #2)
by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas
March 14, 2017
320 pages

Goodreads Summary:
England, 1883. Still recovering from the loss of her beloved sister, Evelyn is determined to use her powers to save other gifted people from those who would harm them. But when her rescue of a young telekinetic girl goes terribly wrong, Evelyn finds herself indebted to a secret society devoted to recruiting and protecting people like Evelyn and her friends.

As she follows the Society’s orders, healing the sick and embarking on perilous recruitment missions, Evelyn sees her problems disappear. Her reputation is repaired, her friends are provided for, and her parents are newly wealthy. She reunites with the dashing Mr. Kent and recovers the reclusive Mr. Braddock (who has much less to brood over now that the Society can help him to control his dangerous power). But Evelyn can’t help fearing the Society is more sinister than it appears...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...