Wednesday, December 4, 2019

WoW #281: Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano


Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about!


Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano
Seasons of the Storm
by Elle Cosimano
June 23, 2020
480 pages

Goodreads      Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
One cold, crisp night, Jack Sommers was faced with a choice—live forever according to the ancient, magical rules of Gaia, or die.

Jack chose to live, and in exchange, he became a Winter—an immortal physical embodiment of the season on Earth. Every year, he must hunt the Season who comes before him. Summer kills Spring. Autumn kills Summer. Winter kills Autumn. And Spring kills Winter.

Jack and Fleur, a Winter and a Spring, fall for each other against all odds. To be together, they’ll have to escape the cycle that’s been forcing them apart. But their creator won’t let them go without a fight.

Sounds neat!

What are you guys waiting on this week?

Monday, December 2, 2019

Review: Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance by Jennieke Cohen


Dangerous Alliance by Jennieke CohenDangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance
by Jennieke Cohen
December 3, 2019
448 pages

Goodreads      Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Jane Austen in this witty, winking historical romance with a dash of mystery!

Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older sister happily wed, the future of her family estate secure, and ample opportunity to while her time away in the fields around her home.

But now Vicky must marry—or find herself and her family destitute. Armed only with the wisdom she has gained from her beloved novels by Jane Austen, she enters society’s treacherous season.

Sadly, Miss Austen has little to say about Vicky’s exact circumstances: whether the roguish Mr. Carmichael is indeed a scoundrel, if her former best friend, Tom Sherborne, is out for her dowry or for her heart, or even how to fend off the attentions of the foppish Mr. Silby, he of the unfortunate fashion sensibility.

Most unfortunately of all, Vicky’s books are silent on the topic of the mysterious accidents cropping up around her…ones that could prevent her from surviving until her wedding day.

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

WoW #280: Sisters of Sword & Song by Rebecca Ross


Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about!


Sisters of Sword & Song by Rebecca RossSisters of Sword & Song
by Rebecca Ross
June 23, 2020
432 pages

Goodreads      Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon. While Eva has been tending their family’s olive grove, Halcyon has been serving in the queen’s army, her status ascending within the Common Court.

But when Halcyon suddenly appears a day early in the shadows of their bedroom, drenched and exhausted, Eva knows something is terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with a terrible crime.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy—five years working in the quarry, five years imprisoned, and five years serving the house she has wronged. Suspicious of the commander and of Halcyon’s silence on her crime, Eva volunteers to serve his house in Halcyon’s stead. If there’s a way to absolve her sister, she’ll find it there. And as Halcyon begins her own sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates worse than death.

Set in a richly drawn ancient world, acclaimed author Rebecca Ross brilliantly conceives a story filled with danger, magic, and a fierce and unbreakable bond between sisters.

I'm all for sister stories and love that cover!

What are you guys waiting on this week?

Monday, November 25, 2019

Review: Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw


Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw
Winterwood
by Shea Ernshaw
November 5, 2019
336 pages

Goodreads     Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw, shows us why.

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.


Wednesday, November 20, 2019

WoW #279: The Damned (The Beautiful #2) by Renée Ahdieh


Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about!


The Damned by Renée AhdiehThe Damned
(The Beautiful #2)
by Renée Ahdieh
June 9, 2020
456 pages

Goodreads      Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with the second installment of her new sumptuous, sultry and romantic series, The Beautiful.

Following the events of The Beautiful, Sébastien Saint Germain is now cursed and forever changed. The treaty between the Fallen and the Brotherhood has been broken, and war between the immortals seems imminent. The price of loving Celine was costly. But Celine has also paid a high price for loving Bastien.

Still recovering from injuries sustained during a night she can’t quite remember, her dreams are troubled. And she doesn’t know she has inadvertently set into motion a chain of events that could lead to her demise and unveil a truth about herself she’s not quite ready to learn.

Forces hiding in the shadows have been patiently waiting for this moment for centuries. And just as Bastien and Celine begin to uncover the danger around them, they learn their love could tear them apart.

I read The Beautiful last month and fell hard for the romance so I need this book!

What are you guys waiting on this week?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...