Monday, September 20, 2021

Quick Thoughts: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo


Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo
Six of Crows
(Six of Crows #1)
by Leigh Bardugo
September 29, 2015
465 pages

Goodreads Summary:
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone. . . .

A convict with a thirst for revenge

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager

A runaway with a privileged past

A spy known as the Wraith

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Monday, September 13, 2021

Quick Thoughts: Hunt the Fae (Vicious Faeries #2) by Natalia Jaster


Hunt the Fae (Vicious Faeries #2) by Natalia Jaster
Hunt the Fae
(Vicious Faeries #2)
by Natalia Jaster
April 24, 2021

Goodreads Summary:
The moment I step into Faerie, I become his.

Everyone knows about the Fae of the forest—gorgeous, sinful, deadly. When I trespass into their magical world, I need more than my sharp tongue to survive. Especially against the ruler of the woodland.

Puck is a smooth-talking rogue with a cruel smirk that sets me aflame in more ways than one. And because the Fae bastard likes to play with his captives, he gives me two choices: either hunt or be hunted.

Now I'm trapped in a dangerous game of hide and seek, lost in this dark, seductive realm where Faeries wield blades and whisper lustful temptations from the shadows.

He’s the predator. I’m the prey.

But I’m not submitting without a fight. I refuse to be Puck’s toy. If my rakish enemy wants to hunt me, I’ll hunt him back and beat him at his own treacherous game.

Yet I can’t resist the wicked desire in his eyes, nor his heated touch and devious kiss. And if I’m not careful, he’ll crush my very soul.

For fans of Sarah J. Maas, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Holly Black, Laura Thalassa, CN Crawford, Emma Hamm, and Miranda Honfleur.

Warning: This is NA/New Adult fantasy romance with explicit sexual content and language. For mature readers 18+.

Step into the Dark Fables World, where defiant mortals and deceitful faeries clash. Hunt the Fae is the second book in Natalia Jaster’s hot fantasy romance series, Vicious Faeries. If you like forbidden love, enemies to lovers, angst with heart, and a slow burn that ignites between a bookish huntress and devilish dark lord, prepare to swoon like a human.

Monday, September 6, 2021

Review: Witch Please (Fix-It Witches #1) by Ann Aguirre


Witch Please (Fix-It Witches #1) by Ann Aguirre
Witch Please
(Fix-It Witches #1)
by Ann Aguirre
September 7, 2021
352 pages

Goodreads Summary:
Practical Magic meets Gilmore Girls in this adorable witchy rom-com with:

• A bisexual virgin baker with a curse
• A witch looking to avoid romantic entanglements
• And a chemistry between them that causes literal sparks

Danica Waterhouse is a fully modern witch—daughter, granddaughter, cousin, and co-owner of the Fix-It Witches, a magical tech repair shop. After a messy breakup that included way too much family “feedback,” Danica made a pact with her cousin: they’ll keep their hearts protected and have fun, without involving any of the overly opinionated Waterhouse matriarchs. Danica is more than a little exhausted navigating a long-standing family feud where Gram thinks the only good mundane is a dead one and Danica’s mother weaves floral crowns for anyone who crosses her path.

Three blocks down from the Fix-It Witches, Titus Winnaker, owner of Sugar Daddy’s bakery, has family trouble of his own. After a tragic loss, all he’s got left is his sister, the bakery, and a lifetime of terrible luck in love. Sure, business is sweet, but he can’t seem to shake the romantic curse that’s left him past thirty and still a virgin. He’s decided he’s doomed to be forever alone.

Until he meets Danica Waterhouse. The sparks are instant, their attraction irresistible. For him, she’s the one. To her, he’s a firebomb thrown in the middle of a family war. Can a modern witch find love with an old-fashioned mundane who refuses to settle for anything less than forever?

Friday, September 3, 2021

Review: The Devil Makes Three by Tori Bovalino


The Devil Makes Three by Tori Bovalino
The Devil Makes Three
by Tori Bovalino
August 10, 2021
368 pages

Goodreads Summary:
Tess Matheson only wants three things: time to practice her cello, for her sister to be happy, and for everyone else to leave her alone.

Instead, Tess finds herself working all summer at her boarding school library, shelving books and dealing with the intolerable patrons. The worst of them is Eliot Birch: snide, privileged, and constantly requesting forbidden grimoires. After a bargain with Eliot leads to the discovery of an ancient book in the library's grimoire collection, the pair accidentally unleash a book-bound demon.

The demon will stop at nothing to stay free, manipulating ink to threaten those Tess loves and dismantling Eliot’s strange magic. Tess is plagued by terrible dreams of the devil and haunting memories of a boy who wears Eliot's face. All she knows is to stay free, the demon needs her... and he'll have her, dead or alive.

Thursday, August 26, 2021

Review: How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland


How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland
How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe
by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland 
August 10, 2021
432 pages

Goodreads Summary:
The Hating Game meets I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter in this irresistible romance starring a Mexican American teen who discovers love and profound truths about the universe when she spends her summer on a road trip across the country.

When her twin sister reaches social media stardom, Moon Fuentez accepts her fate as the ugly, unwanted sister hidden in the background, destined to be nothing more than her sister’s camerawoman. But this summer, Moon also takes a job as the “merch girl” on a tour bus full of beautiful influencers and her fate begins to shift in the best way possible.

Most notable is her bunkmate and new nemesis, Santiago Phillips, who is grumpy, combative, and also the hottest guy Moon has ever seen.

Moon is certain she hates Santiago and that he hates her back. But as chance and destiny (and maybe, probably, close proximity) bring the two of them in each other’s perpetual paths, Moon starts to wonder if that’s really true. She even starts to question her destiny as the unnoticed, unloved wallflower she always thought she was.

Could this summer change Moon’s life as she knows it?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...