Monday, July 16, 2018

Review: When Life Gives You Demons by Jennifer Honeybourn


When Life Gives You Demons by Jennifer Honeybourn
When Life Gives You Demons
by Jennifer Honeybourn
July 17, 2018
272 pages

Goodreads     Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Sixteen-year-old Shelby Black has spent the past year training to be an exorcist. Her great-uncle Roy—a Catholic priest and Shelby’s guardian—believes she has a gift for expelling demons, and he’s put her through exorcist boot camp hell, but he still doesn’t trust her to do an exorcism on her own.

High school is hard enough without having to explain that you fight demons for a living, so Shelby keeps her extracurricular activity quiet, especially from Spencer, her cute math tutor. Secrets run in Shelby’s family, though: her mother has been missing ever since an exorcism went horribly wrong, and Uncle Roy is tight-lipped about it. But Shelby’s hell-bent on finding her mom, no matter what—even if what it ends up costing her her soul AND a date with Spencer.

 

Friday, July 13, 2018

Review: Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl


Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl
Neverworld Wake
by Marisha Pessl
June 5, 2018
327 pages

Goodreads     Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Once upon a time, back at Darrow-Harker School, Beatrice Hartley and her six best friends were the cool kids, the beautiful ones. Then the shocking death of Jim—their creative genius and Beatrice's boyfriend—changed everything.

One year after graduation, Beatrice is returning to Wincroft—the seaside estate where they spent so many nights sharing secrets, crushes, plans to change the world—hoping she'll get to the bottom of the dark questions gnawing at her about Jim’s death. But as the night plays out in a haze of stilted jokes and unfathomable silence, Beatrice senses she’s never going to know what really happened.

Then a mysterious man knocks on the door. Blithely, he announces the impossible: time for them has become stuck, snagged on a splinter that can only be removed if the former friends make the harshest of decisions. Now Beatrice has one last shot at answers... and at life.

And so begins the Neverworld Wake.


Wednesday, July 11, 2018

WoW #209: Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox #1) by Julie Kagawa


Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about!


Shadow of the Fox by Julie KagawaShadow of the Fox
(Shadow of the Fox #1)
by Julie Kagawa
October 2, 2018
400 pages

Goodreads      Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Once Every Thousand Years...

Every millennium, one age ends and another age dawns...and whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers holds the power to call the great Kami Dragon from the sea and ask for any one wish. The time is near...and the missing pieces of the scroll will be sought throughout the land of Iwagoto. The holder of the first piece is a humble, unknown peasant girl with a dangerous secret.

Demons have burned the temple Yumeko was raised in to the ground, killing everyone within, including the master who trained her to both use and hide her kitsune shapeshifting powers. Yumeko escapes with the temple’s greatest treasure—one part of the ancient scroll. Fate thrusts her into the path of a mysterious samurai, Kage Tatsumi of the Shadow Clan. Yumeko knows he seeks what she has...and is under orders to kill anything and anyone who stands between him and the scroll.

A wish will be granted and a new age will dawn.

 
I hadn't heard of this one until I saw a raving tweet on Twitter but it sounds so good! I'm so excited for the Japanese folklore aspect of it!

What are you guys waiting on this week?

Monday, July 9, 2018

Review: Notes from My Captivity by Kathy Parks


Notes from My Captivity by Kathy ParksNotes from My Captivity
by Kathy Parks
July 10, 2018
352 pages

Goodreads     Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray's Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera's More Happy Than Not.

Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather's belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there's no question that she's going to fly across the world.

But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne's being held captive by the family she was convinced didn't exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.

 

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Stacking the Shelves #201


Stacking the Shelves button

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews that lets us share what we've added to our shelves.


We are ready to swoon~~ Got some exciting romance titles thanks to PRHCanada and Thomas Allen & Son!

 
 
Also just a reminder in case you missed my earlier post- I'm heading off on vacation for the next three weeks so I won't be sharing any book hauls during this time. I've still got reviews and Waiting on Wednesdays scheduled so I hope you all still stick around. Thank you <3
 
What did you add to your shelves this week?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...