Monday, July 9, 2018

Review: Notes from My Captivity by Kathy Parks


Notes from My Captivity by Kathy ParksNotes from My Captivity
by Kathy Parks
July 10, 2018
352 pages

Goodreads     Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray's Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera's More Happy Than Not.

Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather's belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there's no question that she's going to fly across the world.

But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne's being held captive by the family she was convinced didn't exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.

 

Review

I have some conflicting feelings about Notes from My Captivity. On one hand it was an immersive read that made me care but on the other I felt like the story didn't give me much. It's a rather unconventional tale of facing some hard truths in life.

Notes from My Captivity was something different. There's a nice slow build up into the main storyline and once we really got into the meat of the story I was taken in. I wanted to know. Alongside the main character(s) I needed to debunk the myth. I didn't expect the sad undertone to the story but it was one that proved vital to how the story developed and took on meaning. The short articles sprinkled throughout the book helped provide context and in the end closure.

Sometimes we find clarity in the most unimaginable situations. It's when you're all alone (and fighting to survive) that you get a chance to reflect and see the little truths in life. "...Being a skeptic is easy. It's belief that's hard..." (ARC, p. 20). This statement is so simple you don't even think about it but it resonated with me when I read it. Sometimes the smallest thing can have a big impact.

Adrienne is a bright, resourceful girl whose father's death left her hollow. Given the way he was taken I don't blame her resentment. She hid the negativity inside her well. It took some serious happenings for her to realize what she needed to do to let go and move on but I completely respect her desire to do right by the people she loves/comes to care for. Her self-deprecating inner thoughts were funny to read- not the right time to be snarky or swooning but she's young. Adrienne's trip into the Siberia woods changed her for the better.

With a mountainous landscape, raging waters and unpredictable wilderness, Notes from My Captivity is a nontraditional adventure survival story. It's a fictional tale but one that's good to keep an open mind to.
 
4 Cats
*I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and not affected in any way. All quotes were taken from the ARC I received.

1 comment:

  1. Great review! This sounds like a book I’d love because I’m obsessed with survival stories, but I’ve seen so many “meh” reviews. I’m not sure if I want to read it.

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...